Ward 6 School Closure Information

The following information is excerpted from a communication release dated July 31, 2008 from Peggy O'Brien, Ph.D. Chief Communications Officer with the District of Columbia Public Schools, Office of the Chancellor.

Ward 6 School Closures

Closing School: Bowen Elementary School (PK-6)

Official Receiving School:

Amidon-Bowen Elementary School (PK-5)
401 Eye St., SW
Principal: Almeta Hawkins
(202) 724-4867

Closing School: Gibbs Elementary School (PK-6)

Official Receiving School:

Browne Education Center (PK-8)
850 26th St., NE 20002
Principal: Keith T. Stephenson
(202) 724-3950

Closing School: Hine Middle School (Grade: 7-8)

Official Receiving Schools:
Eliot-Hine Middle School (Grades: 6-8)
1830 Constitution Ave., NE 20002
Principal: Willie Jackson
(202) 673-8666


Jefferson Middle School (Grades: 6-8)
801 7th St., SW 20024
Principal: Stephanie Patton
(202) 724-4881

Students previously enrolled at a closing school must enroll at one of the Official Receiving Schools. Call or visit the school to enroll your student.

To Register Your Child:

• Go to school of your choice to fill out enrollment forms, meal forms, and health forms.
• Be prepared to show proof of DC residency. It is best to call ahead to determine what documents you need to bring.
• Schools are generally open this summer from 8:30am-3:30pm.
• If you have any questions that we can assist you with, please feel free to call (202) 442-5238.

No comments: