Why are the police boundaries changing?

Answer: For the purpose of delivering police services, the District of Columbia is divided
into seven police districts, each of which is subdivided into five or more Police Service Areas, or PSAs. Although certain resources such as personnel and vehicles can be deployed to match workload, other resources, such as the police district commander, facilities, parking spaces, and radio bandwidth, are fixed and cannot be easily altered to meet changing demands. Therefore, to ensure the best and most efficient delivery of police services, MPD must periodically assess the distribution of workload between the police districts. The last major
realignment of police boundaries was done in 2004.

For more Questions & Answers on the proposed plans, see the attached document or visit the following link:

For information on upcoming police-community meetings to discuss the changes, please visit:

Thank you.

Executive Office of the Chief of Police
Metropolitan Police Department
Washington, DC 20001

No comments: